Sobriety has its challenges 

Anyone who has taken the path of sobriety knows it has its challenges.  My path is no different.  Sobrites often know the exact day they took their last drink or smoked their last joint.  Others state that they were sober yesterday and ask their higher power to keep them sober today.  I have my sober birthday in my Marijuana Anonomys app but I can swear it’s a hundred percent accurate.  I had to figure it out based on my flying from New York to LA, knowing that I got sober one of the days that I flew back from LA to New York (Connecticut); there were so many so I picked one.  May 27th. I spent my birthday on June 7th sober and had dinner with my son in California as opposed to getting fucked up, so I know it was prior to that.  I also don’t remember exactly when I became unsober before May 27th.  I think it was the fall of 2015 that I started drinking, very occasionally at first.  I even drank in front of my wife.  I didn’t really try to hide it but also, did not broadcast it.

In March I started working in California and I immediately looked for wax when o go there. It was like I had a mission.  I did not smoke or vaporize until the evenings, and even then, not a crazy amount, although I could have.  People litterly give me the shit for free.  Cheap habit, you would think.  The price, however, was hidden.  Like when you drink too much and have a car accident-GUILTY!

But I do go to MA meetings ever Sunday that I’m in California.  I started going to Warfrat meetings on Tuesdays.  They are a group of sober Deadheads who do a 12 step program, although unlike AA/MA, which most of the people, especially in AA, are Christian Addidicts, which I guess is better, but dillusioary.  I mean we Don’t believe in the Stork, Santa, or the Tooth Ferry, but in an entity than can hear billions of prayers all fucking day and even answers them.  Christianity is based on a piece of fiction written based on an oral histadama started 2000-5000 years ago.  About pregnant virgins, adultery, a jelious insecure god who is all powerful, but can’t stop or change many things.  It pissed me off when an over religious Christian girl came to our MA meeting and changed the closing prayer from the sorenitity prayer to the Lord’s Prayer.  The Lord’s Prayer blew.  And MA/AA falsely claim to be non-religious and 12-step doesn’t require that you take on believing in God.  I think it part, it does.  But like Scientology, they Don’t really reveal this until you’ve been sober long enough and have worked the 12 steps with a sponser.

So it’s been 4 months clean and sober and it’s not easy, but it’s rewarding.  I maintain a strong relationship with my family, watch my friends occasionally get fucked up and make questionably choices, save a lot of money when I go out for meals or “drinks”, and wake up free of a hangover.  Haven ‘t vomited from drinking for over 10 years.

So I’m trying to stick with the plan but know that I will most likely lapse again, hopefully for a shorter period and less intense each time it happens…I am being honest about it…refreshing. 

Leave a Comment